^ Top


The North American Network Operators' Group (NANOG) helps support networking and engineering education through participation in the following scholarships:

Network Operator's Scholarships

NANOG 2019 Scholarship Program

Program Information

The North American Network Operators’ Group (NANOG), is the professional association for Internet engineering, architecture and operations. Our core focus is on continuous improvement of the data transmission technologies, practices, and facilities that make the Internet function.  In an effort to support the next generation of network operators, NANOG has established a scholarship program to assist current undergraduate and graduate-level students pursuing a degree in one of the eligible fields listed below.  

On behalf of NANOG, this program is administered by Scholarship America®.   Awards are granted as stated in the NANOG Bylaws, with no regard to race, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, age, veteran status, gender, gender identity, gender expression, national origin, disability, or familial status.    


Applicants to the NANOG Scholarship Program must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a current post secondary undergraduate or graduate student who is  pursuing a degree in one of the following fields of study: 
    • Computer Engineering
    • Computer Science
    • Electrical Engineering
    • Network Engineering
    • Telecommunications (at the graduate-level only)
  • Plan to enroll part-time (at least six credits) or full-time in undergraduate or graduate study at an accredited two-or four-year college, university for the entire 2018-2019 academic year.            
  • Have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale (or its equivalent).
  • Each recipient of the scholarship agrees to allow the use of his o her biographical and academic information in publications of the university and NANOG respectively.                            


If selected as a recipient, the student will receive a $10,000 award. Up to four (4) awards will be granted. Awards are one-time only. Past recipients may not re-apply.

Awards are for undergraduate and graduate study. 

Program Deadline


Your application must be submitted on or before April 16, 2019, or within the first 50 submissions, whichever occurs first. You are encouraged to apply early!

Register and Apply today!

Previous Network Operator's Scholarship Recipients

For the 2018-2019 school year, NANOG awarded four scholarships.  The awardees are:

1. John Blair, Kentucky State University, Major: Computer Science

2. Natasha Jadagu, University of Houston - Downtown, Major: Computer Science

3. Zainab Khan, John Hopkins University, Major: Electrical Engineering

4. Albert Kusi, Columbia University, Major: Network Engineering


For the 2017-2018 school year, NANOG awarded four scholarships.  The awardees are:

Jon Postel Scholarship

1. Albert A., Columbia University, Major: Computer Science

2. Jai Punjwani, Adelphi University, Major: Computer Science

Abha Ahuja Scholarship

1. Lynette Mitchell-Grady, Harford Community College, Major: Computer Science

2. Thulani Vereen, Spelman College, Major: Computer Science


To see information about the program and criteria, download this flyer from the 2019-2020 school year.

Scholarship in Memory of Abha Ahuja.

After a brief and unexpected illness, NANOG's friend and colleague Abha Ahuja passed away on October 20, 2001. In 2002, a scholarship fund was established in Abha's name. Donations to the "Abha Ahuja Women in Science in Engineering" fund will benefit students at the University of Michigan College of Engineering.